NAIOA.comNAIOA.comNAIOA.com
 Create an Account

NAIOA Impala Forums :: View topic - Air Conditioning Problem
GarageGarage    1/4 Mile Table1/4 Mile Table    Forum FAQForum FAQ    SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   MedalsMedals
MemberlistMemberlist   ProfileProfile    Watched TopicsWatched Topics    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

Air Conditioning Problem

Post new topic   Reply to topic    NAIOA Impala Forums Forum Index -> Problems with my car!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bond32

Posts per day: 0.01

2001 Chevrolet Impala

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:40 pm    Post subject:  Air Conditioning Problem Reply with quote

So my AC won't hold pressure. I can charge it and within a day or so the charge pressure goes down to under 5. I have zero experience working on AC's. I was wondering what the best way to locate the leak is. I can tell the charge cans I used the fluid is a neon color and there is no visible neon around the compressor, dryer, or condenser. Any ideas?
topgun
Resident
Resident

Posts per day: 0.27

2005 Chevrolet Impala

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 7:31 am    Post subject:  A/C leak Reply with quote

Well, no doubt you have a leak. The neon color is the dye in the gas used for detecting leaks. If the leak is big enough you will see the neon color at the point of the leak. it could be at the compressor clutch, back of compressor at the line fitting/switch. or any part where there is a connection. Condenser, evaporator/dryer. Best to use a black light. Pass it over the entire system, paying attention to connections. 'O' rings will leak. You may need to have more dye added to the system. Check with you local trusted garage. If you can see a point that looks oily wet, that would be a place for a leak. Hope it's not too hot where you are. (sure is hot n sticky in Upstate NY). Good luck. Cool

davidhoutz
Uber
Uber

Posts per day: 0.28

2001 Chevrolet Impala