NAIOA.comNAIOA.comNAIOA.com
 Create an Account
 

  
NAIOA Impala Forums :: View topic - Dual PCM Question
GarageGarage    1/4 Mile Table1/4 Mile Table    Forum FAQForum FAQ    SearchSearch    UsergroupsUsergroups   MedalsMedals
MemberlistMemberlist   ProfileProfile    Watched TopicsWatched Topics    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 

Dual PCM Question
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NAIOA Impala Forums Forum Index -> 2000-2005 PCM/Engine Computer
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fastrunner08
Dedicated
Dedicated


Joined: Aug 21, 2009
Posts: 465
Posts per day: 0.16
Location: Cortland, Ohio

2001 Chevrolet Impala
2004 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:46 am    Post subject:  Dual PCM Question Reply with quote

With people who tune two pcms for their car, ex. one for gas milage, and one for performance, is there a device out on the market that you could plug the engine harness into, and the two pcms into the otherside, and then with the flip of a switch have it switch from one pcm to the other? (i know this wouldn't work while the car was running, and that it would need to be switched while the car was off). I have heard of people just mounting one pcm over the other, and then to switch unplug the one, and plug it into the other manually, but is there an automatic one.

_________________
JAG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Frank
Master Level
Master Level
Platinum Contributor (Amount: 1) Platinum Contributor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 3464
Posts per day: 0.79
Location: Colorado

2001 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:07 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

You'd be better off with a tuner and making a single switch to toggle performance mode on and off...

_________________
2001 Galaxy Silver 9C1 w/ L67 and 4T65E-HD...and a few other mods. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IffyG
NAIOA Moderator
NAIOA Moderator
Silver Contributor (Amount: 1) Silver Contributor


Joined: May 19, 2007
Posts: 13731
Posts per day: 3.66
Location: Nashville, TN

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue
2009 Chevrolet Malibu


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:38 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

Our PCMs have several dozen pins... even if you could design a flip switch design that could go from one to the other, it would be a wiring disaster and all it would take is one thing to go wrong to cause everything to go to s**t. Like Frank said, get a tuner and do some work there that allows you to switch tunes.

_________________
helldorado wrote:
GLWTGFY. Big Thumbs Up

Dan wrote:
Protip: If you don't know what you're doing, don't do it.


d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fastrunner08
Dedicated
Dedicated


Joined: Aug 21, 2009
Posts: 465
Posts per day: 0.16
Location: Cortland, Ohio

2001 Chevrolet Impala
2004 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:29 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

when you say just change the tune, you mean rewrite to the pcm everytime you want to swtich

_________________
JAG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
wanderson75
Guru
Guru
Bronze Contributor (Amount: 1) Bronze Contributor


Joined: Oct 12, 2008
Posts: 4362
Posts per day: 1.35
Location: Southgate, Michigan

2005 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:35 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

He's talking about running multiple tables on the PCM and using a switch to tell it which tables to use..

I've seen that done on Mustangs, but are our cars even capable?

Oh btw...looked at the switching between two PCMs already...definitely way not worth the hassle.

What you could do is get two PCMs, get them tuned the way you want, and just swap them whenever and use an aeroforce to do a CASE learn each time you swap. But that could be a pain as well.

_________________
Shameless Plug: http://gamerliving.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
IffyG
NAIOA Moderator
NAIOA Moderator
Silver Contributor (Amount: 1) Silver Contributor


Joined: May 19, 2007
Posts: 13731
Posts per day: 3.66
Location: Nashville, TN

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue
2009 Chevrolet Malibu


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:37 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

I thought the 'performance shift' button in the GP switched tables for the transmission... maybe I'm making that up... Confused2

_________________
helldorado wrote:
GLWTGFY. Big Thumbs Up

Dan wrote:
Protip: If you don't know what you're doing, don't do it.


d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fastrunner08
Dedicated
Dedicated


Joined: Aug 21, 2009
Posts: 465
Posts per day: 0.16
Location: Cortland, Ohio

2001 Chevrolet Impala
2004 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:49 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

areoforce scan gauge?

_________________
JAG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
IffyG
NAIOA Moderator
NAIOA Moderator
Silver Contributor (Amount: 1) Silver Contributor


Joined: May 19, 2007
Posts: 13731
Posts per day: 3.66
Location: Nashville, TN

2002 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
1998 Oldsmobile Intrigue
2009 Chevrolet Malibu


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:51 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

fastrunner08 wrote:
areoforce scan gauge?


Yeah... it's a handy device to have.


_________________
helldorado wrote:
GLWTGFY. Big Thumbs Up

Dan wrote:
Protip: If you don't know what you're doing, don't do it.


d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fastrunner08
Dedicated
Dedicated


Joined: Aug 21, 2009
Posts: 465
Posts per day: 0.16
Location: Cortland, Ohio

2001 Chevrolet Impala
2004 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:10 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

k just making sure, i just bought and installed two of those, but i have no idea how to do any of the features on them yet, guess im waiting for the time to play around with them and see what they can actually do. How do you do a case learn with them?

_________________
JAG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
RobzSS
Resident
Resident


Joined: Oct 12, 2009
Posts: 523
Posts per day: 0.18
Location: Oxnard, CA

2005 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:16 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

did you buy them new or used? You have to have the latest firmware update on them in order to do the CASE relearn. If it is the new version, press the two buttons at the same time. That will bring you to the menu screen. Use the left button to scroll and the right to select.

_________________

ZZP 3" 304SS Downpipe, ZZP CC PLOG, K&N FIPK Intake, AL 104s, 180* Thermostat, Overkill PCM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frank
Master Level
Master Level
Platinum Contributor (Amount: 1) Platinum Contributor


Joined: Aug 16, 2005
Posts: 3464
Posts per day: 0.79
Location: Colorado

2001 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:24 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

wanderson75 wrote:
He's talking about running multiple tables on the PCM and using a switch to tell it which tables to use..

I've seen that done on Mustangs, but are our cars even capable?


The programming is there in the PCM, but the Impala does not have a switch for it. I'm fairly certain the GP's do. I'm not sure if anyone has gone through and wired up a switch for it.

I don't remember what parameters can be changed, but I do know that the options are there. Once you dig in with a tuner you should be able to see it.

_________________
2001 Galaxy Silver 9C1 w/ L67 and 4T65E-HD...and a few other mods. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fastrunner08
Dedicated
Dedicated


Joined: Aug 21, 2009
Posts: 465
Posts per day: 0.16
Location: Cortland, Ohio

2001 Chevrolet Impala
2004 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:27 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

im assuming that they are the newest version cause i just got them about a month or two ago, unless they came out with one in the past few months

_________________
JAG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
wanderson75
Guru
Guru
Bronze Contributor (Amount: 1) Bronze Contributor


Joined: Oct 12, 2008
Posts: 4362
Posts per day: 1.35
Location: Southgate, Michigan

2005 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:30 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

IffyG wrote:
fastrunner08 wrote:
areoforce scan gauge?


Yeah... it's a handy device to have.



Yes...you must get one. If anything, making the CEL go away because of stupid EVAP codes makes it all worth it. Laughing

_________________
Shameless Plug: http://gamerliving.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wingman520
Guru
Guru
Silver Contributor (Amount: 1) Silver Contributor


Joined: Apr 15, 2008
Posts: 4127
Posts per day: 1.21
Location: Canton, Ohio

2001 Chevrolet Impala
2006 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:31 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

wanderson75 wrote:
IffyG wrote:
fastrunner08 wrote:
areoforce scan gauge?


Yeah... it's a handy device to have.



Yes...you must get one. If anything, making the CEL go away because of stupid EVAP codes makes it all worth it. Laughing


random ? but is the bottom gauge your oil pressure?

_________________
2006 Impala LTZ 105k- Dynomax Catback Exhaust, Overkilled by Will Wink

2001 Chevy Impala- 186K Retired: 180 T stat, HV3, Wizaired Intake, GMPP Exhaust, Speed Daddy Headers, 1.9 Yella Terra Rockers, Custom LED interior, BBEngineering.com 6 Pod Cluster, Poly Mounts and Bushings, Dyno Tuned by Dyno Brian @ Dyno Tune Motorsports 181 WHP 230 WTQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
wanderson75
Guru
Guru
Bronze Contributor (Amount: 1) Bronze Contributor


Joined: Oct 12, 2008
Posts: 4362
Posts per day: 1.35
Location: Southgate, Michigan

2005 Chevrolet Impala


PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:32 pm    Post subject:   Reply with quote

Will be when my 3800SC swap is finished. Laughing Top is boost/vac.

_________________
Shameless Plug: http://gamerliving.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NAIOA Impala Forums Forum Index -> 2000-2005 PCM/Engine Computer All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Forums ©
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. Comments and posts are property of the poster. All other content is © 2008 by the NAIOA.


Use of this site constitutes agreement with the NAIOA Terms of Service (TOS)


PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Server Local Time: August 22, 2017, 2:23:40 am
Page Generation: 0.13 Seconds ( SQL 45:146 in 0.01 Seconds )